Archive for January, 2019


Pikes Peak Ceiling Climb XIII Results

In Uncategorized on January 17, 2019 by nicholasandrewray

Pikes Peak Ceiling Climb XIII
January 13, 2019
Colorado Springs City Auditorium
CDs: Don DeLoach and Tom Norell

Grand Champion – Colorado Cup
Rob Romash 19 pts
Tom Norell 13
David Aronstein 13
Don DeLoach 11
John McGrath 5

FAC Jet Catapult Scale
Tom Norell Arado 69 pts
Rob Romash XB-70 34
David Aronstein Global Flyer 39

Rob Romash 36.9+34.1 71.0
Don DeLoach 33.9+33.8 67.7
John Kagan 27.6+30.5 58.1

Standard CLG
John Kagan 37.3+35.7 73.0
Rob Romash 35.6+35.9 71.5
Tom Norell 35.1+34.3 69.6
Cass Pangell 24.0+25.0 49.0
Rick Pangell 23.0+24.0 47.0

Unlimited CLG
Tom Norell 34.3+35.8 70.1
Rob Romash 34.5+35.0 69.5
Cass Pangell 25.6+25.7 51.3
David Aronstein 23.6+23.5 47.1
Rick Pangell 22.0+23.0 45.0

FAC Peanut
Don DeLoach Fike E 125.5 pts
David Aronstein Jupiter 101
Rob Romash Contester 65

FAC No-Cal Scale
David Aronstein Meteor 8:03
Tom Norell SBD 5:00
Rob Romash Chambermaid 4:52
Cass Pangell Luscombe 2:07
Don DeLoach Spitfire XII 2:06
Tom Norell Cessna 195 3:55

FAC WWII No-Cal Mass Launch 2 rounds (time constraints)
David Aronstein Meteor 2nd
Don DeLoach Spitfire XII 3rd
Rick Pangell P-40 4th

FAC Greve-Thompson No-Cal Mass Launch – 2 rounds
David Aronstein Mr. Smoothie WINNER
Rob Romash Chambermaid 2nd
Tom Norell Chambermaid 3rd

FAC Phantom Flash Mass Launch – 2 rounds
Chuck Etherington WINNER
Tom Norell 2nd
Don DeLoach 3rd

P-18 Mass Launch – 1 round
Tom Norell WINNER
Chuck Etherington 2nd
Jerry Murphy 3rd
John McGrath 4th

P-24 Mass Launch – 1 round
Chuck Etherington WINNER
Tom Norell 2nd
Rick Pangell 3rd

Rob Romash 6:42

Easy B
Rob Romash 7:50
David Aronstein 6:27

Rob Romash 2:29

Limited Pennyplane
Rob Romash 9:07
Brett Sanborn 8:55
Don DeLoach 8:20
John McGrath 6:02
Rick Pangell 4:54

Rick Pangell 3:30
John McGrath 3:19

Tom Norell 4:59
John Kagan 4:32

John McGrath 2:41
Chuck Etherington 2:21
Jerry Murphy 1:53
Cass Pangell 1:38
Rick Pangell 1:36
Tom Norell 1:16

FAC Phantom Flash
Tom Norell 6:00
Chuck Etherington 4:35
Don DeLoach 1:11

FAC Dime Scale
David Aronstein Heath 4:35
Tom Norell MO-1 4:02
Don DeLoach MO-1 2:13


2019 West Baden Contest

In Uncategorized on January 15, 2019 by nicholasandrewray

2019 West Baden Contest

The 2019 West Baden Contest will be held on March 23-24, 2019.  The flyer, which includes the Supplemental Regulations is attached.  The West Baden Springs Hotel has again reserved a block of rooms for us at a reduced rate of $169 per night (plus taxes of 13%) using the code: 0319IMA.  The block will be held through February 23rd so we suggest making a reservation before then to be assured that rooms will be available.  This is Spring Break time in Indiana and the rooms do fill quickly.

The entry fee is $55, the same as in 2017, with a $15 entry fee for juniors.  Helium will be available at a nominal (and subsidized) cost of $10.  An AMA license/membership is required for USA fliers.

The contest is open to all AMA classes except gliders, electric free flight, and bostonian.  Don Slusarczyk will be the event CD. And, finally, thanks to Bud Layne’s SpanTech (the best conveyors in the world) for providing partial sponsorship of the event.”

Please click here for more information.